“MMUF is a network. And I think that over time, the reverberating effects of this network are going to be very, very substantial. As the numbers continue to grow...you begin to get a second- and a third-generation effect...I think that's going to be powerful.”

~ William G. Bowen, co-founder of MMUF and former president of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Faculty Mentors

Amy L BrandzelAmy L. Brandzel

Amy Brandzel is an assistant professor of American Studies and Women Studies. As an intersectional, interdisciplinary scholar, her scholarship works across the connections and contradictions within feminist, GLBT/queer, postcolonial, and critical race theories on identity, citizenship, law, history, and knowledge production. 

  • Education History
    • Ph.D., Feminist Studies, University of Minnesota
    • M.A., Humanities and Social Thought, New York University
    • B.A., History, University of California at Santa Cruz

Sarita CargasSarita Cargas

Sarita Cargas is an Assistant professor at the Honors College. Her teaching and research interest is human rights with an additional focus on explicitly teaching critical thinking. Her courses include the topics of the history of human rights: “A Humane Legacy”; a course on “Globalization and Human Rights” which uses food insecurity as a case study; “Solutions to Human Rights Problems” which emphasizes what various entities contribute to solving human rights abuses.  The critical thinking class: “Why People Believe Weird Things” has the dual goal of teaching students to be aware of the inherent biases in their thinking and provide the tools to become more sophisticated practitioners of thought.  She has forthcoming articles in Human Rights Quarterly and Honors in Practice, and is working on a book about how the biggest organizations promote human rights (governments, United Nations, NGOs, and multinational corporations.)

  • Educational History
    • D.Phil., Oxford University
    • Mst., Study of Relation, Oxford University
    • B.A., St. John's College

Lorenzo F. Garcia Jr.Lorenzo F. Garcia Jr.

Lorenzo F. Garcia Jr., Associate Professor of Classics, is a specialist in early Greek poetry (Homer, Hesiod, the Homeric Hymns). He teaches courses in Greek Civilization, Classical traditions and modern reception of the Trojan War, Greek epic, and Near Eastern influences on Greek culture, in addition to advanced courses in Greek and Latin literature.

  • Educational History
    • Ph.D., Classics, University of California - Los Angeles, Dissertation: Homeric Temporalities: Simultaneity, Sequence, and Duration in the Iliad,directed by Dr. Ann L. T. Bergren.
    • M.A., Classics, University of California - Los Angeles
    • M.A., Comparative Literature and Cultural Studies, University of New Mexico

Matthew HoferMatthew Hofer

Matthew Hofer, associate professor of English, writes about and teaches courses on English-language poetry and poetics, especially formally innovative and experimental work in the tradition of Ezra Pound, Gertrude Stein, and William Carlos Williams. He has written extensively on modernist poetry and the public sphere, and is currently working on a book-length manuscript on “spareness” in twentieth-century poetry. He has edited volumes on Ed Dorn (2013), Sinclair Lewis (2012), and Oscar Wilde (2009), and has guest edited a special issue of The Langston Hughes Review (2010). He has contributed chapters to many edited volumes, including The Cambridge History of American Poetry (“Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, and the East Coast Projectivists”), The Blackwell Companion to Modernist Poetry (“Contemporary Critical Trends”), Ezra Pound in Context (“Education”), and American Literary Scholarship (two chapters on poetry, 1900-1945, and four on T. S. Eliot).

  • Educational History
    • Ph.D., English, University of Chicago
    • M.A., English, Georgetown University
    • B.A., English and Economics, Trinity University

Aubrey JacksonAubrey Jackson

Aubrey Jackson completed her PhD at Ohio State in 2013 and currently is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Sociology at the University of New Mexico. Her research interests include crime and community, law and society, gender, and health. Her current research investigates the link between women’s neighborhood-level socioeconomic resources and intimate partner violence; cross-state and over-time variation in US rape laws; and the soci-spatial context of crime and risk behaviors. Her research involves the use of large-scale survey data sources, quantitative/statistical analysis (e.g., OLS/GLS, HLM/HGLM), geographic information systems (GIS), network analysis, and content analysis of state laws.

  • Educational History
    • PhD, Department of Sociology, The Ohio State University
    • BA, Psychology, Rice University

Amaris KetchamAmaris Ketcham

Amaris Ketcham is an Assistant Professor at the UNM Honors College. Amaris has published essays, poetry, and short fiction in a variety of magazines, anthologies, and online venues. Her teaching interests include creative writing, fine arts, graphic design, and print and digital production. She currently serves as the Faculty Advisor for Scribendi, the Honors College and Western Regional Honors Council literature and arts magazine. Amaris has a decade of experience in literary publishing, graphic design, and communications.

  • Educational History
    • M.F.A., Creative Writing, Eastern Washington University
    • BA, Anthropology and Latin American Studies, University of New Mexico

Jill MorfordJill P. Morford

Jill P. Morford is professor of Linguistics a member of the Scientific Management Team of the NSF Science of Learning Center on Visual Language and Visual Learning (VL2) based at Gallaudet University. She investigates language acquisition and processing in the visual modality, including signed languages, written language and Augmentative and Alternative Communication systems. Recently she has turned her attention to the reading patterns of deaf sign-print bilinguals. The central focus of Jill’s research is to inform our understanding of language acquisition by studying communication in the visual modality. Using the visual modality for one's primary mode of communication is rare among humans. Thus, it is an ideal place to gain insight into the human capacity for language.

  • Educational History
    • Ph.D., Psychology, University of Chicago; Dissertation: Creating the Language of Thought: The Development of Displaced Reference in Child-Generated Language; Advisor: Dr. Susan Goldin-Meadow
    • BA, German, Brown University

Iain ThomsonIain Thomson

Iain Thomson is a professor of Philosophy. specializes in 19th-20th century continental philosophy, especially Heidegger, and is the author of more than two dozen articles and book chapters, as well asHeidegger on Ontotheology: Technology and the Politics of Education (Cambridge UP, 2005). He recently finished a second book, Heidegger, Art, and Postmodernity, and is currently working on two others: Heidegger: A Philosophical Biography; and Thinking Death after HeideggerProfessor Thomson regularly teaches "Introduction to Philosophy," "Existentialism," "Modern Political Philosophy," and various courses on contemporary continental philosophy, focusing on figures such as Heidegger, Levinas, and Derrida, or on issues like the philosophical significance of death, technology, and nihilism.

  • Educational History
    • Ph.D., Philosophy, University of California, San Diego
    • BA, Philosophy, University of California, Berkeley

Ruth TrinidadRuth Trinidad Galvan

Ruth Trinidad Galvan is Associate Professor of Educational Thought and Sociocultural Studies in the Language, Literacy and Sociocultural Studies Department. She is also adjunct faculty in Women’s Studies and the Chicana and Chicano Studies Program. She was awarded the prestigious Fulbright Scholar’s Grant in 2008 and 2015 for research and teaching in Latin America; the AERA/Spencer Fellowship for her research in rural Mexico; and the University Libraries Faculty Acknowledgement Award and Faculty of Color Research Award. She is the co-editor of the Handbook of Latinos and Education, which received the Critics Choice Award in 2010 from the American Educational Studies Association and the author of the newly released Women who stay behind: Pedagogies of survival in rural transmigration Mexico. She has served as Associate Editor of the Journal of Latinos and Education since 2005 and collaborated with the Latino Education Advocacy Day Consortium that works at the national level on Latino education issues.

  • Educational History
    • Ph.D., Education, Culture and Society, University of Utah
    • MA, Educational Foundations, California State University, Los Angeles
    • BA, Economics/International Relations, University of California – Los Angeles

Osman UmurhanOsman Umurhan

Osman Umurhan is currently Assistant Professor at the University of New Mexico, having taught earlier at Austin College and Rutgers University. His primary research focuses on verse satire and other literature of the Roman Empire, with a concentration on the shifting correspondences between geographical boundaries and those of cultural and political identity. He has published articles and books chapters on Juvenal that include his poetic self-representation (Arethusa 44.2) and his engagement with traditions of the New Testament (Brill 2013). Currently, he is working on several projects: the Roman politics of food and consumption, the anatomical politics of Aristophanic comedy, the reception of Classics in metal music, as well as a monograph on Juvenal’s Satires that investigates the Roman cultural response to and negotiation of a globalizing Mediterranean world of the second century CE.

  • Educational History
    • Ph.D., Classics, New York University; Dissertation: Spatial representation in Juvenal’s Satires: Rome and the satirist
    • BA, Classical Civilizations, University of California – Los Angeles